Black Gods in Exile  /  The Project
URL: http://schwarze-goetter-im-exil.de/eng/project/index.html


Under the patronage of the Brazilian minister of culture.

Black Gods in Exile
Photo exhibition and supporting program, September 2004 - Summer 2006

On September 1, 2004, the cooperative program Black Gods in Exile celebrates the opening of an exhibition by the photographers Pierre Fatumbi Verger and Mario Cravo Neto, and begins its interdisciplinary supporting program at the Museum of Ethnology in Berlin.

The project investigates the cultural transfer in the Transatlantic Triangle (Africa - the Americas - Europe) from the period of slavery up to the present. Special focus is given to the works of visual anthropologists, artists and literary personalities, who deal with the cultures of the 'Black Americas'.

Black Gods in Exile will be officially opened by German state minister of culture Dr. Christina Weiss and the Brazilian minister of culture Gilberto Gil, the project's elected patron. The Brazilian musician-composer Gilberto Gil was a longtime friend of the photographer Pierre Verger and documented his life and work in a widely acclaimed film.

The exhibition - a co-production of the Pierre Verger Foundation in Salvador/Bahia and the Goethe-Institut - will be shown until 2006 at the Museum of Ethnology in Berlin, the Museum of World Cultures in Frankfurt a.M., the Linden-Museum in Stuttgart and the Museum of Ethnology in Munich. The catalog is published by Das Wunderhorn publishing house, Heidelberg. The project is funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

According to UNESCO studies, 12 million slaves were abducted by Europeans to the so-called New World. The collected memory of this atrocity - the greatest theft of human life in world history - was kept alive on the other side of the Atlantic in ritual practices of the Brazilian Candomblé, Haitian voodoo, and Cuban Santería.


The Exhibition

No other twentieth-century photographer explored or documented the mutual cultural relationships and continual transfer of knowledge between Europe, Africa and both Americas as thoroughly as Pierre Verger (1902-1996). While in Europe his work remains relatively unknown, in his chosen homeland, Brazil, and reaching into Latin America, Verger has long been considered one of the most important photographers of the twentieth century. He played a major role as a forerunner of visual anthropology and also influenced an entire generation of artists, literary personalities and academicians on both sides of the Atlantic. His photographic work, largely created between the 1930s and 1950s, significantly contributed to understanding the (self)image of modern, multiethnic societies in the 'Black Americas' (Roger Bastide). In Germany, Verger became known through Hubert Fichte and Eleonore Mau, whose publications Xango and Petersilie could only be completed thanks to his support.


Pierre Fatumbi Verger

traveled the five continents as an internationally recognized photojournalist for Paris Soir, Match Magazine, Daily Mirror, LIFE, La Prensa, O Cruzeiro, Unesco Courier, and other publications. It was in the year 1946 that he first went to Salvador de Bahía, henceforth his second home; and alongside his numerous travelogues about Africa, he captured the life of this uncrowned capital of Afro-Brazilian arts and culture (with over 3,000 places of worship) in riveting photographs. Since the 1950s, countless volumes of his photography were published in France and Brazil, but which today are out of print.

Up to his death in 1996, Verger led a modest existence in a suburb of Salvador and was an active member of an Afro-Brazilian religious denomination. Today his former home functions as the Fundaçao Pierre Verger, which makes available for this project various materials from the Verger Estate, consisting of circa 62,000 largely unpublished photographs as well as his library and written correspondence.


The Concept

emphasizes Verger's central importance in the areas of cultural studies, ethnology, and cultural anthropology. The universal approach of this self-taught photographer provided an entire generation of researchers from various fields of study with a new way of viewing multi-ethnical and multi-denominational societies and how they function. Above and beyond that, Verger's friendship and intellectual solidarity with the best-known anthropologists and ethnologists of his time, and with artists and intellectuals of the Parisian surrealist and Brazilian modernismo movements, make him a key figure of the twentieth century Black Gods In Exile gives today's German public the opportunity to rediscover in Pierre Fatumbi Verger an ideal mediator between Africa, Europe and the Americas.

 

Contact: Christoph Bertrams, Forum Goethe-Institut Berlin, bertrams@goethe.de


<< back


© Organizers Black Gods in Exile

Schwarze Götter im Exil  /  Das Projekt
URL: http://schwarze-goetter-im-exil.de/deu/project/index.html


Unter Schirmherrschaft des brasilianischen Kulturministers.

Schwarze Götter im Exil
Fotoausstellung und Rahmenprogramm, September 2004 - Sommer 2006

Am 1. September 04 beginnt das Verbundprogramm Schwarze Götter im Exil mit einer Ausstellung der Fotografen Pierre Fatumbi Verger und Mario Cravo Neto sowie einem interdisziplinären Rahmenprogramm im Ethnologischen Museum Berlin.

Das Projekt untersucht die kulturellen Transfers im transatlantischen Dreieck (Afrika - Amerika - Europa) von der Sklavenzeit bis in die Gegenwart. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf Arbeiten visueller Anthropologen, Künstler und Literaten, die sich mit den Kulturen der 'Schwarzen Amerikas' beschäftigt haben.

Eröffnet wird Schwarze Götter im Exil von der deutschen Kulturstaatsministerin Dr. Christina Weiss und dem brasilianischen Kulturminister Gilberto Gil, der die Schirmherrschaft für das Projekt übernommen hat. Der brasilianische Musiker und Komponist war Pierre Verger lange Jahre freundschaftlich verbunden und dokumentierte dessen Leben und Werk in einem vielbeachteten Film.

Die Ausstellung, eine Koproduktion der Stiftung Pierre Verger in Salvador/Bahia mit dem Goethe-Institut, wird bis 2006 im Ethnologischen Museum Berlin, im Museum der Weltkulturen in Frankfurt a.M., im Linden-Museum Stuttgart und im Staatlichen Museum für Völkerkunde München gezeigt. Der Katalog erscheint im Verlag Das Wunderhorn Heidelberg. Gefördert wird das Projekt von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

12 Millionen Sklaven sollen nach UNESCO Studien von Europäern aus Afrika in die sogenannte Neue Welt verschleppt worden sein. Das kollektive Gedächtnis an diesen größten Menschenraub der Weltgeschichte wurde auf der anderen Seite des Atlantiks in rituellen Praktiken des brasilianischen Candomblé, haitianischen Voodoo oder der kubanischen Santería wachgehalten.


Ausstellung

Kein Fotograf des 20. Jahrhunderts hat die wechselseitigen kulturellen Beziehungen und den kontinuierlichen Wissenstransfer zwischen Europa, Afrika und den beiden Amerikas so umfangreich erforscht und dokumentiert wie Pierre Verger (1902-1996). Während sein Werk in Europa weitgehend unbekannt geblieben ist, gilt Verger in seiner Wahlheimat Brasilien und darüber hinaus in ganz Lateinamerika seit langem als einer der wichtigsten Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er spielte eine wichtige Rolle als Wegbereiter der visuellen Anthropologie und beeinflusste eine ganze Generation von Künstlern, Literaten und Wissenschaftlern beiderseits des Atlantiks. Sein fotografisches Werk, das hauptsächlich zwischen den 1930er und 1960er Jahren entstand, trug wesentlich zum (Selbst)Verständnis der modernen multi-ethnischen Gesellschaften der 'Schwarzen Amerikas' (Roger Bastide) bei. In Deutschland wurde Verger über Hubert Fichte und Eleonore Mau bekannt, deren Publikationen Xango und Petersilie nur dank seiner Unterstützung entstehen konnten.


Pierre Fatumbi Verger

bereiste als international bekannter Fotoreporter für Paris-Soir, Match-Magazine, Daily Mirror, LIFE, La Prensa, O Cruzeiro, Unesco Kurier u.a. alle fünf Kontinente. Im Jahre 1946 kam er erstmalig nach Salvador de Bahia, das fortan zu seiner zweiten Heimat werden sollte. Neben seinen zahlreichen Reisereportagen aus Afrika hielt er das Leben dieser heimlichen Hauptstadt der afrobrasilianischen Künste und Kultur (mit mehr als 3.000 Kultstätten) in faszinierenden Bildern fest. Seit den 50er Jahren erschienen zahlreiche Fotobände in Brasilien und Frankreich, die heute vergriffen sind.

Bis an sein Lebensende (1996) wohnte Verger unter einfachsten Bedingungen in einem Vorort Salvadors und war aktives Mitglied in einer afrobrasilianischen Glaubensgemeinschaft. In seinem ehemaligen Haus befindet sich heute die Fundaçao Pierre Verger, die den Nachlass von rund 62.000 zum großen Teil unveröffentlichten Aufnahmen sowie seine Bibliothek und Korrespondenzen für dieses Projekt zur Verfügung stellt.


Das Konzept

stellt die zentrale Bedeutung Vergers für die Cultural Studies, die europäische Ethnologie und Kulturanthropologie heraus. Durch seinen interdisziplinären und universellen Ansatz vermittelte der ehemalige Autodidakt einer Generation Forschern aus unterschiedlichen Wissenschaftsbereichen völlig neue Einsichten in das Funktionieren multiethnischer und religiös vielfältiger Gesellschaften. Seine Freundschaft und intellektuelle Verbundenheit mit den bekanntesten Anthropologen und Ethnologen seiner Zeit, Intellektuellen und Künstlern des Pariser Surrealismus und des brasilianischen Modernismo machen ihn darüber hinaus zu einer Schlüsselfigur des 20. Jahrhunderts. Mit Schwarze Götter im Exil kann das deutsche Publikum heute in Pierre Fatumbi Verger einen idealen Vermittler zwischen Afrika, Europa und den Amerikas wiederentdecken.

 

Kontakt: Christoph Bertrams, Forum Goethe-Institut Berlin, bertrams@goethe.de


<< zurück


© Veranstalter Schwarze Götter im Exil