Home - Black Gods in Exile

Photos by Pierre Verger and Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Publications

<< Publications     << Cravo Neto Photos

Mario Cravo Neto
Trance_Territories
Photographs
Catalog

The cult practices of the Candomblé *), the Afro-Brazilian religion in Salvador da Bahia (Brazil), are the theme of the new book of photography, Trance_Territories by Mario Cravo Neto. With his photographs, Cravo Neto impressively continues the work on the Candomblé initiated by Pierre Verger; he transcribes it in colors while also finding for it a new visual expression in the 21st century.

Cravo Neto’s photographs depict people and objects, as well as the preparations for cult practices and how these transpire. What emerge are sculptural images, whose magical quality is inescapable for their viewers. The mystic and supernatural, brought to a halt in cult practices, is continued in minute detail in the photographic image.

Mario Cravo Neto was born 1947 in Salvador da Bahia. Since the age of seventeen, he studied sculpture and photography under the guidance of his father, the well-known sculptor Mario Cravo Júnior. In the 1960s Cravo Neto lived in Berlin before moving to New York. In 1970 he returned to Brazil, and since then lives and works in Salvador. The recipient of numerous prizes, he is today considered one of Brazil’s most important photographers. In 2003 his latest large-scale solo exhibition, entitled Na Terra _Sob Meus Pés, was shown in Rio de Janeiro.


 

Mario Cravo Neto

88 color photographs, 100 pages, bound edition with dust jacket
With texts by Mario Cravo Neto and Ilares Tavares

Euro 24,80 / SFr 43,50
ISBN 3-88423-224-X

Publishing House Das Wunderhorn, Heidelberg 2004

>> Website
with order system


>> Print version
Book details, text,
brief biography

 

<< Publications     << Cravo Neto Photos

Home - Schwarze Götter im Exil

Fotos von Pierre Verger und Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Publikationen

<< Publikationen     << Cravo Neto Fotos

Mario Cravo Neto
Trance_Territories
Fotografien
Katalog

Die Kulthandlungen des Candomblé *), der afro-brasilianischen Religion in Salvador da Bahia / Brasilien, sind das Thema dieses neuen Fotobandes Trance_Territories von Mario Cravo Neto. Mit seinen Fotografien setzt er auf beeindruckende Art die Arbeit von Pierre Verger zum Candomblé fort, überträgt sie in Farben und findet für sie einen bildlichen Ausdruck des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Cravo Netos Fotografien zeigen Menschen und Gegenstände, Vorbereitungen und Abläufe der kultischen Handlungen. Es entstehen skulpturale Bilder, deren Magie wir uns nicht entziehen können. Mystisches und Übernatürliches wird in kultischen Handlungen aufgelöst und setzt sich bis ins kleinste Detail auf den Fotos fort.

Mario Cravo Neto wurde 1947 in Salvador da Bahia geboren. Seit seinem 17. Lebensjahr lernte er Skulptur und Fotografie bei seinem Vater, dem bekannten Bildhauer Mario Cravo Júnior. Cravo Neto lebte in den 60er Jahren in Berlin, danach in New York. 1970 kehrte er nach Brasilien zurück und lebt und arbeitet seitdem wieder in Salvador. Er erhielt zahlreiche Preise und gilt heute als einer der bedeutendsten Fotografen Brasiliens. 2003 war seine letzte große Einzelausstellung in Rio de Janeiro unter dem Titel Na Terra _Sob Meus Pés zu sehen.


 

Mario Cravo Neto

88 Farbabb.,100 Seiten, gebunden mit Schutzumschlag
Mit Texten von Mario Cravo Neto und Ilares Tavares

Euro 24,80 / SFr 43,50
ISBN 3-88423-224-X

Verlag Das Wunderhorn, Heidelberg 2004

>> Website
mit Bestellmöglichkeit


>> Druckversion
Angaben zum Buch,
Text, Kurzbiographie

 

<< Publikationen     << Cravo Neto Fotos