Home - Black Gods in Exile

Photos by Pierre Verger and Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Publications / Pierre Verger

<< Verger Photos

Foreword. Pierre Verger - Black Gods in Exile
Catalog / Publication to the exhibition

Gilberto Gil

His Excellency, The State Minister for Culture of the Federal Republic of Brazil

Pierre Verger was not only a wonderful person and gifted photographer, he was also a constant wanderer between worlds. With his more than 60,000 photographs, his travelogues from five continents, and his academic studies on Afro-Brazilian religion, all of which he left behind for us, he forged a path of mutual understanding between Europe, Africa, and our Americas.

For a half century Pierre Verger lived and worked in my native city, Salvador da Bahia. His ties with the art bohemia there were as warm as those with dignitaries of the Bahian Candomblés *). He seemed to have a greater respect for the wisdom of the African priests, who he visited regularly on his field trips, than for the over-precise Parisian intellectuals, who sometimes paid him a visit in Salvador. In the Afro-Brazilian religion and world of experiences, he not only discovered traditions and customs thought to be buried over; he also made it possible for us to see the boost of modernization that Afro-Brazilians achieved in their former homeland. In doing so, he gave new life to a transatlantic dialog that fell silent ages ago.

Verger’s work uniquely documents how the cultural heritage of Africa and Europe, in religious practices, music, dance and theatrical forms of expression, has consistently renewed itself and so helped in mastering the social reality involved. His photographs emphasize just how important the aesthetic component was and is for the self-confidence of their protagonists. Considering the extent to which black slaves of the past and their ancestors were forced to reconstruct and "reinvent" Africa on the other side of the Atlantic, they substantially designed the new societies of Brazil, the Caribbean and North America at the same time.

In this year, with the UNESCO commemorating the suppression of slavery 200 years ago, in the first, now independent Republic of Haiti, these wonderful photographs by my friend, Pierre Verger, also represent a message of reconciliation between the so-called Old and New World.

For making this marvelous German-Brazilian project possible, I would like to warmly thank the State Minister for Cultural and Media Affairs, Dr. Christina Weiss, and the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Brasilia, as well as our friends from the Goethe Institut, The Pierre Verger Foundation, and the publishing house Das Wunderhorn.

Brasilia, July 19, 2004

>> Print version

 Gilberto Gil / + zoom

+ zoom 

<< Publication Verger     << Verger Photos

Home - Schwarze Götter im Exil

Fotos von Pierre Verger und Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Publikationen / Pierre Verger

<< Verger Fotos

Grußwort. Pierre Verger - Schwarze Götter im Exil
Katalogbuch zur Ausstellung

Gilberto Gil

Staatsminister für Kultur der Föderativen Republik Brasilien

Pierre Verger war nicht nur ein wunderbarer Mensch und ein begnadeter Fotograf, er war auch ein ständiger Wanderer zwischen den Welten. Mit seinen mehr als 60.000 Fotografien, seinen Reiseaufzeichnungen aus fünf Kontinenten und den wissenschaftlichen Studien über die afrobrasilianische Religion, die er uns hinterlassen hat, schlug er Brücken der gegenseitigen Verständigung zwischen Europa, Afrika und unseren Amerikas.

Ein halbes Jahrhundert lang lebte und wirkte Pierre Verger in meiner Heimatstadt Salvador da Bahia. Der dortigen Künstlerbohème war er so freundschaftlich verbunden wie den Honoratioren der Bahianischen Candomblés *). Vor der Weisheit afrikanischer Priester, die er regelmäßig auf seinen Forschungsreisen besuchte, schien er größeren Respekt zu haben als vor der Spitzfindigkeit Pariser Intellektueller, die ihn gelegentlich in Salvador aufsuchten. In der afro-brasilianischen Religion und Lebenswelt entdeckte Verger nicht nur verschüttet geglaubte Traditionen und Überlieferungen. Er führte uns auch vor Augen, welchen Modernisierungsschub Afrobrasilianer in ihrer ehemaligen Heimat bewirkt haben. Damit brachte er einen transatlantischen Dialog in Schwung, der für längere Zeit versiegt war.

Vergers Werk dokumentiert auf einzigartige Weise, wie sich das kulturelle Erbe Afrikas und Europas in der religiösen Praxis, in Musik, Tanz und theatralischen Ausdrucksformen ständig erneuert hat und dabei half, die gesellschaftliche Wirklichkeit zu bewältigen. Seine Fotos stellen heraus, wie wichtig dabei die ästhetische Komponente für das Selbstbewußtsein ihrer Akteure war und ist. Denn in dem Maße, wie die einstigen Negersklaven und ihre Nachfahren Afrika auf der anderen Seite des Atlantiks aus dem Gedächtnis rekonstruieren und neu 'erfinden' mussten, gestalteten sie die jungen Gesellschaften Brasiliens, der Karibik und Nordamerikas maßgeblich mit.

In diesem Jahr, da die UNESCO der Niederschlagung der Sklaverei vor 200 Jahren in der ersten unabhängig gewordenen Republik Haiti gedenkt, stellen die wunderbaren Fotos meines Freundes Pierre Verger eine Botschaft der Versöhnung zwischen der sogenannten Alten und der Neuen Welt dar.

Für die Realisierung dieses schönen deutsch-brasilianischen Projektes möchte ich mich herzlich bei der Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien, Frau Dr. Christina Weiss und der Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Brasilia bedanken sowie bei unseren Freunden vom Goethe-Institut, der Stiftung Pierre Verger und dem Verlag Das Wunderhorn.

Brasilia, 19. Juli 2004

>> Druckversion

 Gilberto Gil / + zoom

+ zoom 

<< Publikation Verger     << Verger Fotos