Home - Black Gods in Exile

Photos by Pierre Verger and Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Pierre Verger

<< P. Verger     << Publication

Biography

+ zoom

1902

Pierre Edouard Léopold Verger is born on November 4 in Paris as the second of three sons in a Belgian-German family.

 + zoom

1909-20

Attends the Lycée Janson de Sailly in Paris. Technical studies at the École Bréguet, later expelled because of misconduct.

1920

Enters the family business, a printing works run by three of his uncles following his father’s death in 1915; after concluding his military service, leads the life of a young, affluent dandy and vacations in Deauville.

1932-33

His mother dies; he begins making photographs in Corsica, together with the photographer Pierre Boucher; tours the USSR on the occasion of the 15th anniversary of the October Revolution; travels to Tahiti and the small Easter Island.

1934

Returns to Paris; his photographs appear in the South Sea exhibition at the Museum of Ethnography (today Musée de l'Homme); meets academic personalities such as Georges-Henri Rivière, Marcel Griaule, Germaine Dieterlen, Michel Leiris, and Alfred Métraux, later his companion. Joins the "Prévert Group;" travels around the world, commissioned by the magazine "Paris Soir" : USA, Japan, China, the Philippines, Singapore, Colombo, and Djibouti; publishes in London’s "Daily Mirror" ; founds the Paris-based agency for independent photographers, "Alliance Photo", together with Pierre Boucher, René Zuber, Émeric Féher, Denise Bellon, and later Robert Capa.

 + zoom

1935

Tours Europe by bicycle; taken into custody at the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War, suspected of being a German spy; in Paris he begins what becomes a more than 30-year-long collaboration with the publisher Paul Hartmann; travels to Black Africa via Algeria; sets off into the Sahara with a camel expedition to visit the Tuareg people in Adrar of Ifora.

1936

Further trips: Kidal, Timbuktu, Mopti, San, Ségou, Bamako, Ouahigouya, Togo and Dahomey (today Benin) in the regions of the Sombas and Tanguiétas; Dosso (Niger); returns by bus to Algiers via Tamanrasset; in Paris he converts an attic space into his own private photography studio; travels by sea to the Caribbean; in Santo Domingo he experiences the restrictions on taking photographs under the regime of dictator Trujillo; from Havanna he travels to Mexico City; visits various places of worship in Teotihuacán, Xochimilco, Oaxaca, Tehuantepec and Yucatán; tours USA by bus.

1937

Photographs the Paris World’s Fair Exhibition; represented in the Museum of Modern Art (New York) exhibition "Photography 1839-1937;" commissioned by "Alliance Photo" to document the Chinese-Japanese War; travels to China with the Trans-Siberian Express; in Manila’s northern region, Baguio, he lives with headhunter tribes.

1938

Travels to Lai Chan in French Indochina along the "Black River," with a stopover in the imperial city of Hué, where he photographs the powerless emperor Bao-Dai; spends a month in Cambodia; discovers the temple of Angkor; in Paris he receives his draft notice from the French army; following the demobilization, the magazine "Paris Match" sends him to the Vatican.

1939

Stays 4 months in Mexico City; photographs Leo Trotzki thanks to the intervention of friends of the Prévert Circle and "Groupe Octobre;" robbed in the train bound for Guatemala; travels via Antigua to the Panama Canal; following the outbreak of war in Europe, embarks on an odyssey through South America; journeys from Rio to Senegal.

1940-41

Dakar is immediately militarized; he returns to South America via Casamance, Guinea-Bissau, and the Cape Verde islands; experiences financial difficulties in Buenos Aires; completes underpaid pieces for the newspapers "El Mundo Argentino" and "Argentina Libre"; lives with a group of gypsies

1942-43

Crosses Bolivia; in July: arrives in Peru; works as a photographer at the National Museum in Lima; following alternating periods of residency in Lima and Cuzco, travels the region of the Quechua and Aymara Indians in the high plateaus.

1944-45

Termination of his position as photographer at the National Museum in Lima; the Rubber Development Corporation commissions him to photograph the extraction of latex in Amazonian regions of Peru; suffers a severe case of malaria in Lima.

1946

Travels from Peru via Bolivia to São Paulo; befriends the ethnologist Roger Bastide, who encourages him to acquaint himself with African Brazil; In Rio, through the help of the weekly periodical "O Cruzeiro", he receives a residency permit for an extended period entitling him to work as a photographer; arrives in the port of Salvador da Bahia; befriends the writer Jorge Amado, the singer Dorival Caymmi, the humanities scholar Vivaldo Costa Lima, the sculptor Mário Cravo Júnior, the Argentinean painter Carybé, the collector Mirabeau Sampáio; his photojournalism focuses on traditional festivals, "candomblés," folk artists and poets

1947-48

The École Française d'Afrique in Dakar (Senegal) offers him a yearlong grant; accompanies Alfred Métraux to Dutch Guyana; they meet again in Haiti, where he lives in the Centre d'Art for the Support of Haitian Folk Artists; researches the origins of voodoo in Dahomey; departs for Dakar, where he studies the interplay of African cults on both sides of the Atlantic.

1949-50

Discovers in Tibúrcio dos Santos, in Ouidah (Dahomey), documents on the slave trade; establishes the starting point for 17 years of research on relationships between the Golf of Benin and Bahia de Todos os Santos, and on the Brazilian influence, particularly in West Africa; collaborates with Austrian artist Susanne Wenger, who lives in Nigeria.

1951-52

Commissioned by Paul Hartmann to complete a photo-reportage on the Belgian Congo; takes an upriver steamship cruise on the Congo River from Leopoldville to Stanleyville; forges a path into the Ituri forests; photographs in Rwanda the Watusi people; visits the Katanga mines.

 + zoom

1953-56

The initiation of Pierre Verger in Ketou, where he receives the name "Fatumbi" and the title of "Babalaô" (The Father of Secrets), allowing him access to the orally passed-on wisdom of the Yorubá; on the island of Gorée he writes his M.A. study for the Institut Français d'Afrique Noire (IFAN) in Dakar, and for Paul Hartmann the book "Dieux d'Afrique"; returns to Bahia.

1957

Travels to Cuba to photograph Ernest Hemingway for "O Cruzeiro"; investigates the entire island; meets Lydia Cabrera, a Cuban Santería-cult expert; together with Cabrera and Alfred Métraux, participates in "Vodun" ceremonies; travels through Mexico and Brazil.

1962

Appointed member of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in France, where he becomes director of research in January 1972.

1966

Obtains his Ph.D. at the Sorbonne in Paris with a doctoral thesis on the black slave trade between the Golf of Benin and Bahia from the 17th to 19th century.

1968

With the support of the French ambassador to Benin, the old Portuguese fort in Ouidah is made into a museum dedicated to the Brazilian Diaspora.

1973

The shooting of the TV-documentary "The Brazilians of Africa and the Africans of Brazil", with the assistance of his friend Balbino Daniel de Paula.

 + zoom

1974

Honorary professorship at the Universidade Federal da Bahia, which in the future allows him a modest existence.

1977

After many previous stays in Nigeria, the University of Ifé offers him a visiting professorship, which he ends three years later.

1979

Returns permanently to Bahia; makes contact with the Editora Corrupio publishing house, which prints a series of his photography books.

1988

March 28: the founding of Fundação Pierre Verger, today situated in the house purchased in 1960 near Vila América in Salvador.

 + zoom

1989

In France he gives lectures on medicinal plants of the Yorubá, together with French ethnobotanist Ming Anthony, with whom he gives a lecture on memory-inducing plants in 1993 in Heidelberg.

1993

February: travels to Benin for the "1st Festival of Vodoun Culture" and the reopening of the History Museum in Ouidah; The exhibition "Le Messager: photographies 1932-1962" at the Musée de l'Élysée in Lausanne, later shown in Paris at the Musée National des Arts Africains et Océaniens.

 + zoom

 + zoom

1994-95

Last trip to Europe, with stopovers in Paris and London, where he participates in a weeklong festival honoring artists and intellectuals from Bahia; when overexertion from traveling causes his health to worsen, he flies back to Salvador in late July; in São Paulo his last work, "Ewé, o uso das plantas na Sociedade Iorubá", is publised by Editora Schwarcz

1996

Editions Revue Noire in Paris publishes a new edition of his favorite book, "Dieux d'Afrique"; gives his last interview with Gilberto Gil, a few days before his death on February 11.

>> Print version

<< P. Verger     << Publication

Home - Schwarze Götter im Exil

Fotos von Pierre Verger und Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Pierre Verger

<< P. Verger     << Publikation

Biographie

+ zoom

1902

Geburt von Pierre Edouard Léopold Verger am 4. November in Paris als mittlerer von drei Söhnen einer belgisch-deutschen Familie.

 + zoom

1909-20

Besuch des Lycée Janson de Sailly in Paris, Technische Studien an der École Bréguet, Ausschluss wegen Indiszipliniertheit.

ab 1920

Eintritt in die Familiendruckerei, die nach dem Tod des Vaters 1915 von drei seiner Onkel betrieben wird; nach Militärdienst Leben als junger wohlhabender Dandy, Ferien in Deauville.

1932-33

Tod der Mutter; erste Fotoaufnahmen in Korsika zusammen mit dem Fotografen Pierre Boucher; Reise durch die UdSSR anlässlich des 15. Jahrestages der Oktoberrevolution; Aufbruch nach Tahiti und den Kleinen Osterinseln.

1934

Rückkehr nach Paris, wo seine Fotos in einer Südseeausstellung des Ethnographischen Museums (heute Musée de l'Homme) gezeigt werden; Bekanntschaft mit den Wissenschaftlern Georges-Henri Rivière, Marcel Griaule, Germaine Dieterlen, Michel Leiris und seinem späteren Freund Alfred Métraux. Anschluss an die "Prévert-Gruppe"; Reise um die Welt im Auftrag von "Paris-Soir": USA, Japan, China, Philippinen, Singapur, Colombo und Djibouti; in London Veröffentlichungen im "Daily Mirror"; Gründung von "Alliance Photo" in Paris, einer Agentur unabhängiger Fotografen, zusammen mit Pierre Boucher, René Zuber, Émeric Féher, Denise Bellon und später Robert Capa.

 + zoom

1935

Fahrradreisen durch Europa; bei Ausbruch des Spanischen Bürgerkrieges Festnahme als mutmaßlicher deutscher Spion; in Paris Beginn einer mehr als 30-jährigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verleger Paul Hartmann; Abreise nach Schwarzafrika über Algerien; Aufbruch in die Sahara, mit einer Kamelexpedition zu den Tuareg im Adrar des Iforas.

1936

Weiterreise nach Kidal, Timbuktu, Mopti, San, Ségou, Bamako, Ouahigouya, Togo und Dahomey (heute Benin) in die Regionen der Sombas und der Tanguiétas; Dosso (Niger); Rückreise per Bus nach Algier über Tamanrasset; in Paris richtet er in einer Dachkammer sein eigenes Fotolabor ein; Einschiffen in die Karibik, in Santo Domingo Fotografierbeschränkungen durch das Regime von Diktator Trujillo; von Havanna Weiterreise nach Mexiko-Stadt, Besuch der Kultstätten in Teotihuacán, Xochimilco, Oaxaca, Tehuantepec und Yucatán; Busreise durch die USA.

1937

Fotografiert die Pariser Weltausstellung; ist in der Ausstellung "Photography 1839-1937" des Museum of Modern Art New York vertreten; wird von "Alliance Photo" beauftragt, den chinesisch-japanischen Krieg zu dokumentieren; Reise nach China mit der transsibirischen Eisenbahn; Aufenthalt in Manila und der nördlich gelegenen Region Baguio bei Kopfjägerstämmen.

1938

Aufbruch nach Französisch-Indochina, entlang des "Schwarzen Flusses" nach Lai Chan; Zwischenstop in der kaiserlichen Stadt Hué,wo er den machtlosen Kaiser Bao-Dai fotografiert; ein Monat Aufenthalt in Kambodscha, Entdeckung der Tempel von Angkor; zurück in Paris Einberufung durch die französische Armee; nach der Demobilisierung für "Paris Match" im Vatikan.

1939

Viermonatiger Aufenthalt in Mexiko-Stadt, fotografiert dank der Vermittlung von Freunden des Prévert-Kreises und der "Groupe Octobre" Leo Trotzki; wird im Zug nach Guatemala ausgeraubt; Reise über Antigua zum Panamakanal; nach Kriegsausbruch in Europa Odyssee durch Südamerika; reist von Rio in den Senegal.

1940-41

In Dakar sofortiger Einzug zur Armee; Rückkehr nach Südamerika über Casamance, Guinea-Bissau und die Kapverdischen Inseln; finanzielle Schwierigkeiten in Buenos Aires; schlecht honorierte Beiträge für die Zeitungen "El Mundo Argentino" und "Argentina Libre"; lebt bei einer Gruppe von Zigeunern.

1942-43

Durchquerung Boliviens; Juli: Ankunft in Peru; Stelle als Fotograf beim Nationalmuseum in Lima; wechselnder Aufenthalt in Lima und Cuzco, von wo aus er das Gebiet der Quechua- und Aymara-Indios auf den Hochplateaus bereist.

1944-45

Aufkündigung seiner Fotografenstelle im Nationalmuseums in Lima; erhält von der Rubber Development Corporation den Auftrag, die Latexgewinnung in den Amazonasregionen Perus zu fotografieren; schwerer Malariaanfall in Lima.

1946

Von Peru aus Reise durch Bolivien nach São Paulo; Freundschaft mit dem Ethnologen Roger Bastide, der ihn ermutigt, das afrikanische Brasilien kennenzulernen; erhält in Rio eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung dank der Wochenzeitschrift "O Cruzeiro", für die er lange Zeit als Fotograf tätig sein wird; Ankunft im Hafen von Salvador da Bahia; Freundschaft mit dem Schriftsteller Jorge Amado, dem Sänger Dorival Caymmi, dem humanistischen Gelehrten Vivaldo Costa Lima, dem Bildhauer Mário Cravo Júnior, dem argentinischen Maler Carybé, dem Sammler Mirabeau Sampáio; Entstehung von Fotoreportagen über traditionelle Feste, "candomblés", Volkskünstler und Poeten.

1947-48

Angebot eines einjährigen Stipendiums der École Française d'Afrique in Dakar (Senegal); begleitet Alfred Métraux nach Niederländisch-Guyana; Wiedersehen in Haïti, wohnt im Centre d'Art zur Förderung haïtianischer Volkskünstler; Recherchen über die Ursprünge des Voudou in Dahomey; Abreise nach Dakar, wo er die Wechselbeziehungen afrikanischer Kulte auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks untersucht.

1949-50

Entdeckt bei Tibúrcio dos Santos in Ouidah (Dahomey) Dokumente über den Sklavenhandel; Ausgangspunkt für 17 Jahre Forschungsarbeit über die Beziehungen zwischen dem Golf von Benin und Bahia de Todos os Santos sowie den brasilianischen Einfluss vor allem in Westafrika; Zusammenarbeit mit der in Nigeria lebenden österreichischen Künstlerin Susanne Wenger.

1951-52

Auftrag von Paul Hartmann für eine Fotoreportage über Belgisch-Kongo; Dampferfahrt den Kongofluss aufwärts von Leopoldville nach Stanleyville; Vordringen in die Ituri-Wälder; fotografiert in Ruanda den Watusi-Stamm; Besuch der Katanga-Minen.

 + zoom

1953-56

Initiation von Pierre Verger in Ketou, wo er den Namen "Fatumbi" und den Titel "babalaô" (Vater des Geheimnisses) erhält, der ihm Zugang zum mündlich überlieferten Wissen der Yorubá eröffnet; auf der Insel Gorée Magisterarbeit für das Institut Français d'Afrique Noire (IFAN) in Dakar und für Paul Hartmann das Buch "Dieux d'Afrique"; Rückkehr nach Bahia.

1957

Reise nach Kuba wegen Aufnahmen von Ernest Hemingway für "O Cruzeiro"; Erkundung der gesamten Insel; trifft Lydia Cabrera, eine Expertin der kubanischen Santería-Kulte; nimmt gemeinsam mit ihr und Alfred Métraux an "Vodun"-Zeremonien teil; Reisen durch Mexiko und Brasilien.

1962

Ernennung zum Mitglied des Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in Frankreich, wo er im Januar 1972 Forschungsdirektor wird.

1966

Promotion an der Sorbonne in Paris mit einer Doktorarbeit zum Thema des Schwarzen Sklavenhandels zwischen dem Golf von Benin und Bahia vom 17. - 19. Jahrhundert.

1968

Mit Unterstützung des französischen Botschafters in Benin Umwandlung des alten portugiesischen Forts von Ouidah in ein Museum der brasilianischen Diaspora.

1973

Dreharbeiten für die Fernsehdokumentation "Die Brasilianer Afrikas und die Afrikaner Brasiliens" unter Mitwirkung seines Freundes Balbino Daniel de Paula.

 + zoom

1974

Honorarprofessur an der Universidade Federal da Bahia, die ihm künftig ein bescheidenes Auskommen ermöglicht.

1977

Nach mehreren vorangegangenen Aufenthalten in Nigeria Einladung zu einer Gastprofessur an der Universität von Ifé, die er nach drei Jahren beendet.

1979

Dauerhafte Rückkehr nach Bahia; Kontakt zum Verlag Editora Corrupio, der eine Reihe von Fotobänden Vergers herausgibt.

1988

28. März: Gründung der Fundação Pierre Verger, die heute in seinem 1960 erworbenen Haus in der Vila América in Salvador ihren Sitz hat.

 + zoom

1989

Vorträge über Yorubá-Heilpflanzen in Frankreich gemeinsam mit der französischen Ethnobotanikerin Ming Anthony, mit der er 1993 auch in Heidelberg einen Vortrag über das Gedächtnis stärkende Pflanzen hält.

1993

Februar: Reise nach Benin zum "1er Festival des Cultures Vodoun" und zur Wiedereröffnung des historischen Museums in Ouidah; Ausstellung "Le Messager: photographies 1932-1962" im Musée de l'Élysée in Lausanne und anschließend im Pariser Musée National des Arts Africains et Océaniens.

 + zoom

 + zoom

1994-95

Aufbruch zur letzten Europareise mit Aufenthalten in Paris und London, wo er an einer Festwoche zu Ehren von Künstlern und Intellektuellen aus Bahia teilnimmt; Verschlechterung des Gesundheitszustandes auf Grund der Reisestrapazen, daher Ende Juli Rückflug nach Salvador; Veröffentlichung seines letzten Werkes "Ewé, o uso das plantas na Sociedade Iorubá" bei Editora Schwarcz in São Paulo.

1996

Neuauflage seines Lieblingsbuches "Dieux d'Afrique" durch Editions Revue Noire in Paris; letztes Interview mit Gilberto Gil wenige Tage vor seinem Tod am 11. Februar.

>> Druckversion

<< P. Verger     << Publikation