Home - Black Gods in Exile

Photos by Pierre Verger and Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Pierre Verger

<< back

Ethnography and Photography
By Pierre Verger

The following photographs were taken during the course of different trips throughout two continents, Dahomey and Brazil, and to an extent during a pilgrimage from one source to another. They lay the foundation for a common theme since they all refer to African religions – religions transported during the period of the slave trade by the blacks themselves, from the African homeland to the new continent.

In 1946, when I returned to Brazil for a brief stay, the magical quality of the "Boa Terra," the name given to Salvador, the capital of the state of Bahia, turned my intended stay of a few weeks into one that would last many years.

All throughout Brazil one finds a generous and tolerant spirit. In Bahia, however, the race relations seem to produce the greatest human warmth. All religious expressions enjoy a far-reaching tolerance here, so that the cult surrounding specific African deities can be maintained with an impressive authenticity and give rise to beautiful public ceremonies.

While I was attending such a gathering, I felt the urge to repeat a much too short journey taken to West Africa in 1936. This wish was wonderfully fulfilled thanks to a grant from the Institut Francais d'Afrique Noire in Dakar: I was commissioned to research the origins of these cultures.

In the subject at hand, we give special emphasis to the revelations of the Orishas *) and Voduns, from Nigeria and Dahomey. To transcribe in a few words the nature of these deities and the ceremonies dedicated to them is not an easy task. Essentially this concerns natural forces, which, over the course of time, were brought closer to mankind through a complex system of alliances, fixed, tamed, and finally transformed into protective gods. As deities, they became the Orishas *) and Voduns. And whether rooted in Africa or transplanted in distant lands, during cultural ceremonies these are the gods that reveal themselves to their followers in states of trance.

Just as with the continuous and living, mystic connection to godly ancestors found on the black continent, African ceremonies in Brazil also live from this connection to the gods, the dead and the living. The "Candomblé *)" have a connection to the Kingdom of Heaven so intense that it can almost be touched, and no believer hesitates to summon his deities, to implore their protection and enjoy their goodwill.

During the course of my studies, my working tool – photography – proved to be an invaluable aid. It let me establish an indispensable understanding between myself and the people the subject of my studies. In Africa, when I showed my photographs of certain Brazilian ceremonies, the images immediately created an atmosphere of interest and sympathy for the good of my investigations. Thoughts made visible through photographic documents promoted a more concise and generally-understood language. Far better than any abstract interpretations might have done, photography made it possible for me to show the Africans that their Brazilian brothers – whose abduction during the period of slavery they knew of, without it ever being told to them directly – still paid homage to the beliefs of their ancestors. The people of Dahomey and Nigeria quickly recognized the symbolic cult-objects, and how certain ceremonies were performed, as being strongly related to their own. Many of them even thought the photographs were taken in a neighboring village, and not until I pointed out specific details, for example the presence of light-skinned mestizos and the totally different clothing, did they first realize they were mistaken.

(Published in: Camera, 1956)

>> Print version

 

<< back

Home - Schwarze Götter im Exil

Fotos von Pierre Verger und Mario Cravo Neto


Home











Pierre Verger

<< zurück

Ethnographie und Photographie
Von Pierre Verger

Die folgenden Photographien wurden im Laufe verschiedener Reisen durch zwei Kontinente in Dahomey und Brasilien, gewissermaßen auf einer Wallfahrt von Quelle zu Quelle, aufgenommen. Es liegt ihnen ein gemeinsames Thema zu Grunde, denn es beziehen sich alle auf afrikanische Religionen; Religionen, die zu Zeiten des Sklavenhandels von den Schwarzen selbst aus der afrikanischen Heimat nach dem neuen Kontinent übertragen wurden.

Um 1946 kehrte ich zu kurzem Aufenthalt nach Brasilien zurück; allein, der Zauber der "boa terra", wie Salvador, die Hauptstadt des Staates Bahia, genannt wird, verwandelte den für wenige Wochen vorgesehene Aufenthalt in einen mehrere Jahre dauernden.

In ganz Brasilien herrscht ein großzügig toleranter Geist, doch in Bahia scheinen sich die Rassenbeziehungen am herzlichsten gestaltet zu haben. Alle religiösen Äußerungen genießen weitgehende Toleranz, so dass der Kult um gewisse afrikanische Gottheiten sich bewundernswert echt zu erhalten vermochte und zu sehr schönen öffentlichen Zeremonien Anlass gibt.

Als ich einer solchen Kundgebung beiwohnte, erwachte in mir die Sehnsucht, eine 1936 unternommene, allzu kurze Reise nach Westafrika zu wiederholen. Meinem Wunsch wurde durch ein Stipendium des Institut Francais d'Afrique Noire in Dakar herrliche Erfüllung gewährt: Ich wurde beauftragt, dem Ursprung dieser Kulturen nachzuforschen.

Im Vorliegenden befassen wir uns besonders mit den Offenbarungen der Orishas *) und Voduns von Nigeria und Dahomey. Es ist nicht leicht, das Wesen dieser Gottheiten und der ihnen geweihten Zeremonien in wenigen Worten zu umschreiben. Im Wesentlichen handelt es sich um Naturkräfte, die im Laufe der Zeit durch ein komplexes Bündnissystem den Menschen näher gebracht, fixiert, gezähmt und schließlich zu Schutzgöttern verwandelt worden sind; als Gottheiten sind sie zu Orishas *) und Voduns geworden. Sie sind es, die sich im Verlauf der Kulturzeremonien in den Trancezuständen ihrer Nachkommen offenbaren, mögen diese in Afrika verblieben, oder in ferne Länder verpflanzt worden sein.

Gleichwie im schwarzen Erdteil die mystische Verbindung mit den vergötterten Ahnen dauernd und lebendig geblieben ist, leben auch die afrikanischen Zeremonien in Brasilien von dieser Verbindung der Götter, der Toten und der Lebenden. Die "Candomblé *)" stehen mit einem fast greifbaren Himmelreich in Verbindung und der Gläubige ruft seine Gottheiten unmittelbar an, erfleht ihren Schutz und genießt ihr Wohlwollen.

Im Laufe meiner Studien erwies sich mein Werkzeug, die Photographie, als wertvollstes Hilfsmittel; sie ergab die unersetzliche Verständigungsmöglichkeit zwischen mir und denen, die ich zu erforschen hatte. So schufen die Bilder, die ich in Brasilien von gewissen Zeremonien genommen hatte, wenn ich sie in Afrika zeigte, ein unmittelbares Verständnis, eine Atmosphäre des Interesses und der Sympathie, welche meinen Nachforschungen zugute kam. Die Gedanken, durch das photographische Dokument sichtbar gemacht, wurden zu einer viel prägnanteren, allgemeinverständlichen Sprache. Weit besser, als es abstrakte Auslegungen vermocht hätten, ermöglichte es die Photographie, den Afrikanern zu zeigen, dass ihre Vettern in Brasilien, von deren Verschleppung in die Sklaverei sie wussten, ohne je von ihnen selbst gehört zu haben, dem Glauben ihrer Vorfahren noch immer treu huldigten. Der Mann aus Dahomey und aus Nigeria erkannte, dass die symbolischen Kultgegenstände, den Ablauf gewisser Zeremonien, den ihren sehr verwandt waren. Mancher behauptete sogar, es handle sich um Aufnahmen aus einem Nachbardorf; man musste ihnen an Hand gewisser Einzelheiten, wie der Gegenwart hellhäutiger Mestizen und der ganz anderen Kleidung, erst ihren Irrtum klar machen.

(Veröffentlicht in: Camera, 1956)

>> Druckversion

 

<< zurück